 |
 |  bigskank
join:2002-06-07 Norman, OK
| Re: Drive-by-downloadings Nothing like a couple of script kiddies who pretend to have a conscience.
The only thing that will make their idiocy even more humorous is when they receive a cease and desist letter from some company for sharing cracks (or at least appearing to), or when their ISP pulls the plug on them for using P2P. Or better yet, when they anger another group of kiddies and revenge is taken. Personally, I'd like to see a group of swashbuckling kiddies show up on their doorstep to keel haul them  | |
|
 |  |   gaforces United We Stand, Divided We Fall
join:2002-04-07 Santa Cruz, CA | Re: Drive-by-downloadings AFAIK script kiddies use other peoples programming skills and just click an exe file. I wouldnt put these guys in that category since they are writing this themselves. | |
|
 |  |  |   technick Premium join:2000-12-16 Loganville, GA | Re: Drive-by-downloadings Either way they are not l33t for doing this. Someone needs to smack them silly. Plan and Simple. | |
|
  AnonProxy Proxy of Anon Premium join:2001-05-12 ß | Perverted Justice Justice YOu have to know these people are about as fcuked up as the guys on Perverted Justice.
Maybe these two morons are trying to get gigs with the RIAA. | |
|
 |   Cougar311
join:2002-07-18 USA | Re: Perverted Justice Justice Waste of Time, Don't they have anything better to do, Like working? | |
|
  R4M0N Brazilian Soccer Ownz Joo
join:2000-10-04 Glen Allen, VA | Sad but true The two are going to be script kiddied straight back to the stone age. Just wait and see. | |
|
 |  |
 |  |  tc17
join:2003-08-14
| Re: Sad but true I was thinking the same thing also. I would not be surprised if their website gets taken down by hackers.
Let alone the fact just by running their fake "keygen", it is NOT illegal to run a keygen as it proves nothing except the fact you downloaded a program and ran it.
Reporting your IP to them however most likely is illegal due to the fact you are not told upfront or signed any disclaimer that they are allowed to do that.
It reminds me of the vigilantes who seem to think they have the right to hack into peoples computers to find things, yet what they are doing is illegal. Its the same thing as breaking into your house. | |
|
  digiblur Got Sipura? Premium join:2002-06-03 Louisiana | ROTFLMAO!!! nice! ROTFLMAO!!!! That is so funny! | |
|
 russotto
join:2000-10-05 Collegeville, PA | Yeah, that'll work There's bunches of fake game ROM sites which fill your computer with viruses and spyware, yet ROM piracy goes on regardless. I don't think P2P will be knocked down by fake files either, even if malicious. | |
|
 rmdir
join:2003-03-13 Chicago, IL | data If it's a script, let's check the meta data on the document. Bet it originated at the MPAA... | |
|
  gaforces United We Stand, Divided We Fall
join:2002-04-07 Santa Cruz, CA
·Cruzio Internet
1 edit | The tracking part They say they arent going to send the info sent back to them to law enforcement, but why else would the program phone home? The people who dl that stuff should be reported, at the least for being stoopid  -- Fiber Optics is the future of high-speed internet access. Stop by the BBR Fiber Optic Forum | |
|
  53059959 Temp banned from BBR more then anyone
join:2002-10-02 PwnZone | laf they're just asking for some p*wnage course, any professional warez downloader knows a 240kb ut2k4 file is bogus | |
|
 |  |
 |   Julio Bachatero y Que? Premium join:2003-03-19 Brooklyn, NY clubs: | but it's not UT2K4, it's a Keygen/Crack for UT2K4. and keygens/cracks can be 240KB. | |
|
  Transmaster Don't Blame Me I Voted For Bill and Opus
join:2001-06-20 Cheyenne, WY
·Qwest.net
2 edits | too much time.... This is what a couple of geek teenagers do when they have ruined their brains watching to many episodes of the Teletubbies. In addition they are so obnoxoius and ugly they can't even get a date with an inflatable porno doll. Clif and Justin pulled the string on their new plastic princess, instead of a moan and groan their pnematic nooky deflated.  -- "Remember when hacking a loogy it comes not so much from the lungs but from the soul." | |
|
 |  dave Premium,MVM join:2000-05-04 not in ohio | Re: too much time.... Nothing like substantive on-subject commentary, is there? | |
|
  koitsu Premium join:2002-07-16 Mountain View, CA
| SIlly, but intruiging. The motive behind this is something I agree with, but on the other hand I do consider it wasted time.
However, their site lists who ran the program, when it was run, what it was named, the users' IP, yadda yadda. I think such information is quite interesting to see, since based upon the time of fetch, you can get an idea of how something quickly can spread, regardless of how silly or pointless it may be.
With that said, I've got to give these two blokes kudos for at least doing something that's silly but intriguing to boot. -- Making life hard for others since 1977. | |
|
 |  | Anon | Re: SIlly, but intruiging. said by koitsu : The motive behind this is something I agree with, but on the other hand I do consider it wasted time.
However, their site lists who ran the program, when it was run, what it was named, the users' IP, yadda yadda. I think such information is quite interesting to see, since based upon the time of fetch, you can get an idea of how something quickly can spread, regardless of how silly or pointless it may be.
With that said, I've got to give these two blokes kudos for at least doing something that's silly but intriguing to boot.
If its collecting information then it looks like SPYWARE to me. It's waste of time and serves no real purpose. Who knows what data does it send besides ip location etc.? I never seen the program but it would be interesting to packet sniff it. It also floods p2p networks with useless crap. Looks like those guys are out looking for publicity. -- Roses are #FF0000, violets are #0000FF. | |
|
 | Anon | Also Also it appears they are hosting their website off RoadRunner cable. Is that even allowed?
walktheplank.ath.cx has address 24.31.106.207 207.106.31.24.IN-ADDR.ARPA domain name pointer -> gso31-106-207.triad.rr.com -- Roses are #FF0000, violets are #0000FF. | |
|
 |  LAPD_IRON
join:2001-11-18 Muncie, IN | Re: Also Mabey you should try to get their phone number and let their dad know that thewre up to more than midget porn on his pc. | |
|
  Chazza
@tiscali.co | Loada Bullshite lol, any warez downloader, obviously knows not to use p2p and would also use a firewall!
whatta loada bull | |
|
 |
 |   BIGMIKE Premium join:2002-06-07 Westminster, CA | Re: Too Funny BlackICE PREVENTS destructive applications that wat a firewall! are fore, Aney time a applications want to go on line BlackICE will block it and tell me. | |
|
 LAPD_IRON
join:2001-11-18 Muncie, IN | Coulda been worse At least they didnt make something damaging, but, if I know people well, they soon will sell that log to the RIAA to try to make sum cheeze off of it. | |
|
 |   DivineDark
join:2001-08-30 Oklahoma City, OK clubs: | in a nut shell "help us get attention and money for our program" ooohhh we hate piracy. some company notice us and pay us." | |
|
 |   Julio Bachatero y Que? Premium join:2003-03-19 Brooklyn, NY clubs: | Re: Coulda been worse it would be pointless, since there are no grounds on which the RIAA can sue you for, since you never downloaded any copyrighted material. | |
|
  Orwell1984
@rr.com | Virus It doesn't really matter what type of social engineering these aholes use to get it downloaded. It is still a virus even if they don't intend for it to damage someones system.Send them to prison | |
|
 |   BIGMIKE Premium join:2002-06-07 Westminster, CA
| Re: Virus you do not now wat a virus is, Trojan
a portion of a program code that has been designed to furtively copy itself into other such codes or computer files. It is usually created by a prankster or vandal to effect a nonutilitarian result or to destroy data and program code.
A virus consists of a set of instructions that attaches itself to other computer programs, usually in the computer's operating system,
| |
|
 |  |   James Mcdonald
@212.219.x.x | Re: Virus I Download illegal software my postcode is RM10 9PU is live in england in Dagneham could you send me some software to let me download games with no broken links. ouch you know im bad hehe. I go to Havering Sixth Form College | |
|
 espionage007
join:2003-06-14 Herndon, VA | Bit torrent? I dont think their little program would be distributed over bit torrent since the software checks to see if the "unreal Tournament 2004" is really authentic or not. so I wouldnt worry about that crap. | |
|
 |
|
 |