Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » VOIP etc » Voice Over IP - VOIP » Vonage » Vonageipo.com - scam?
Uniqs:
1601
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
router or modem »
« Vonage Cancellation  

NetWatchMan
Premium,VIP
join:2001-03-13
Alpharetta, GA

Vonageipo.com - scam?

Come on Vonage, if you're really ready for the big time make sure emails you send out enable the end user to validate that they are legitmate.

If this is legit was are you hosting this site on some company called 'i-deal'???

Name: www.vonageipo.com
Address: 216.74.162.26

C:\LLBDDrive\nc>nc -n -v 64.41.251.179 4321
(UNKNOWN) [64.41.251.179] 4321 (?) open
%rwhois V-1.5:001ab7:00 rwhois.exodus.net (Exodus Communications)
216.74.162.26

network:Class-Name:network
network:Auth-Area:0.0.0.0/0
network:Network-Name:216.74.162.0
network:IP-Network:216.74.162.0/24
network:Organization;I:I-Deal
network:Name;I:Ioannis Hadjiioannou
network:Email;I:ioannis.Hadjiioannou@i-deal.com
network:Street;I:40 West 23rd Street
network:City;I:New York
network:State;I:NY
network:Postal-Code;I:10010
network:Country-Code;I:USA

-----Original Message-----
From: Vonage IPO Information [mailto:donotreply@vonageipo.com]
Sent: Monday, May 08, 2006 08:39
To: baldwinl@xxxxxxxxx
Subject: Important Customer Information Regarding Vonage's Proposed IPO

Dear Valued Vonage Customer,

As you may know, Vonage has filed a registration statement with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) related to its proposed initial public offering (IPO) of common stock. Because much of our success is attributable to our customers, we have asked the underwriters of the IPO to reserve shares of common stock for sale to certain Vonage customers at the IPO price in a Directed Share Program.

You may be eligible to participate in the Directed Share Program if you meet certain eligibility requirements, including having been a Vonage customer from December 15, 2005 through February 1, 2006. You do not need to continue to be a Vonage customer in order to participate. Further information about the terms and conditions of the Directed Share Program, including the eligibility requirements and the process for participating in the program, are available in our registration statement and at the following website:

www.vonageipo.com

Thank you,

Vonage

Vonage Holdings Corp. has filed a registration statement (including a prospectus) with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) for the offering to which this communication relates. Before you invest, you should read the prospectus in that registration statement and other documents Vonage Holdings Corp. has filed with the SEC for more complete information about the issuer and this offering. You may get these documents for free by visiting EDGAR on the SEC Web site at www.sec.gov. Alternatively, the issuer, any underwriter or any dealer participating in the offering will arrange to send you the prospectus if you request it by calling toll-free 1-866-869-5224.

This is a transactional communication, as defined by the CAN-SPAM Act, 15 USC 7701.
--
Lawrence Baldwin
myNetWatchman
The Internet Neighborhood Watch

ptrowski
Got Helix?
Premium
join:2005-03-14
Putnam, CT
clubs:

Re: Vonageipo.com - scam?

I just received the same email.

montee4
Premium
join:2004-02-15
Chicago, IL

3 edits
It validates your full account name when you enter your account ID and zip code. I am assuming this is legit.
--
Make your money count! - »budgetcents.blogspot.com/

bhan261

join:2001-02-12
New York, NY

Man, you're watching wa-a-a-y too many conspiracy theory movies. Relax! Do you really think Vonage (or ANY other company going through a public offering) would take the time to build the back-end necessary to handle all the information required to be in compliance with SEC regulations. Of course not. That's why they're using i-deal. Jeez...not everything is a "scam".
priller

join:2000-10-20
Gainesville, VA
·voip.ms
·Callcentric
·Vonage
·callwithus

Re: Vonageipo.com - scam?

Why wouldn't they link from your account portal? Instead, they want you to login into your account, note your account number, they come back and enter it on the vonageipo.com website ( that just happened to pop up this morning ).

The phishing emails I get from "my bank" work the same way.

montee4
Premium
join:2004-02-15
Chicago, IL


1 edit

Re: Vonageipo.com - scam?

said by priller See Profile :

Why wouldn't they link from your account portal?
This is probably becuase not all current account members are qualified for this. Plus people that may have cancelled their account recently but are still qualified as they had service during the required period, would not have access to the portal anymore
--
Make your money count! - »budgetcents.blogspot.com/

bhan261

join:2001-02-12
New York, NY

Re: Vonageipo.com - scam?

This is all true. Add to it the fact that the extent of disclosure and accuracy of record keeping required by the SEC makes it a challenge for anyone do handle this process "in-house". Hence, they farm it out to specialist firms who do it for a living.

usa2k
Please PRAY for Rebekah
Premium,MVM
join:2003-01-26
Canton, MI
clubs:
·VOIPo
·WOW Internet and C..
·Broadvox Direct

Re: Vonageipo.com - scam???

said by montee4 See Profile :

... would not have access to the portal anymore
I have access to my old portal that cannot be reactivated from 12/04.

I had to use a new ID to start up again.
Even the we want you back mail sends you to a newbie sign-up page like everyone else.

Looks like I was gone enough to be disqualified.
--
Jim -- USA2K
SEE: |DCWU |FP |FAH |BVX REVIEW |
FWD, Vonage 01/03-12/04, 04/06-now
Forums » VOIP etc » Voice Over IP - VOIP » Vonagerouter or modem »
« Vonage Cancellation  


Saturday, 28-Nov 05:04:35 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [121] Time Warner Cable Fires Broadside At Broadcasters
· [112] New AT&T Ad Campaign Hits Back At Verizon
· [96] Apple Joins AT&T Verizon Snark Fest
· [87] New Bill Takes Aim At Higher Verizon ETFs
· [71] TiVo Sees Record Customer Losses
· [69] In-Flight Internet Headed For Bumpy Landing?
· [66] Verizon CEO: Hulu Will Be Dead Soon
· [62] Thanksgiving Open Thread
· [50] Weekend Open Thread
· [40] EFF Wages War On Fine Print
Most people now reading
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Is Gear Score now the new requirement to get pug invite? [World of Warcraft]
· What is the spell hit cap for a lvl 80 full arcane spec mage [World of Warcraft]
· [WIN7] Can I use Windows 7 disc to boot up install? [Microsoft Help]
· [ PVP] 3.2 DK PvP D/W Spec... [World of Warcraft]
· DIR-655 New Beta 1.32b09 [D-Link]
· HOW-TO: QoS and Tomato (fixes "choppy voice") [MagicJack]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]
· [Newsgroups] Black Friday Usenet! [Filesharing Software]