  rjackson Premium,Mod join:2002-04-02 Ringgold, GA clubs: | reply to WhyADuck Re: Crap just hit the fan, but something's not rig
Ok...for as little as $3.95/mo anyone can host a site at GoDaddy. |
|
  WhyADuck Premium join:2003-03-05 | reply to rjackson It might possibly be relevant if the location were suspicious - for example, at the same location as a bunch of other sites created by a particular PR firm. |
|
  rjackson Premium,Mod join:2002-04-02 Ringgold, GA clubs:
Host: SMC Networks Automotive VOIP Tech Chat ViaTalk Teleblend
| reply to WhyADuck said by WhyADuck :Is there no way to tell where the server that hosts this site is located? The IP range in which the site's domain resolves to is registered to GoDaddy, so it's reasonable to believe that's who's hosting the site. Where it's physically located though, is largely irrelevant and probably won't get you any closer to who's behind it. |
|
  WhyADuck Premium join:2003-03-05
| reply to rjackson said by rjackson :The picture on the right looks brigher because a flash was used at close range. The picture on the left is a picture from a monitor or TV, doesn't look like any artificial light was used at all. Perhaps. When I first saw the picture in the article (on the TV station site) I initially thought the baby was black, which is why it shocked me to see what appears to be a very caucasian baby on the other site.
said by rjackson :Honestly the site does not appear all that professional to me. There's no evidence she did the site herself, perhaps a friend or family member did it as a favor. I don't know - I grant you it isn't flashy but when I look at the content of the site, it just doesn't look amateurish at all to me. I'm sure that if a PR firm were behind it, they would not be so obvious as to use a lot of graphics and such. Rather, they'd make a carefully crafted but somewhat plain, deliberately non-flashy site, so as not to overplay their hand, so to speak.
said by rjackson :I'm not backing up or refuting your claims, just saying based on this evidence alone it doesn't look like she's frauding anyone based on this. I'm NOT making any claims, just asking some hard questions and airing my suspicions. I may be totally wrong, it wouldn't be the first time. But I sure wish there was some way to track this down a bit better, to confirm or refute my thoughts. Is there no way to tell where the server that hosts this site is located? |
|
  rjackson Premium,Mod join:2002-04-02 Ringgold, GA clubs:
Host: SMC Networks Automotive VOIP Tech Chat ViaTalk Teleblend
| reply to WhyADuck Re: Crap just hit the fan, but something's not right?
said by WhyADuck :2) Why does the WESH-TV story shows a photo of a baby that seems to have a much darker complexion than the baby shown on the web site (see attached comparison - note the photos are under copyright by WESH.COM and Joseph & Cheryl Waller, I am posting them here under the doctrine of fair use, which I believe allows such use for the purpose of critical analysis. If the mods feel I am wrong about this they may feel free to remove the attachment). The picture on the right looks brigher because a flash was used at close range. The picture on the left is a picture from a monitor or TV, doesn't look like any artificial light was used at all.
said by WhyADuck :3) Perhaps the thing that strikes me as the oddest thing is that the » www.911petition.com web site seems very professionally done. Reading the article, we are led to believe that this distraught mother, in the short time after her baby's death (and, just by coincidence, just prior to possible upcoming FCC action on the matter) was able to come up with this web site. Honestly the site does not appear all that professional to me. There's no evidence she did the site herself, perhaps a friend or family member did it as a favor.
said by WhyADuck :I know we have some network gurus on this forum so here is my question to you: Can you track down ownership of the 911petition.com domain? What I am wanting to know is whether there are any known public relations firms or "astroturf" groups that are using this tragedy for commercial purposes, to promote the agenda of one or more incumbent telephone companies. Domain name records are public, and made available by the domain registrars. Unfortunately in this case the registrant has opted for a private registration, so you don't get any real info:
Registrant: Domains by Proxy, Inc. DomainsByProxy.com 15511 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353 Scottsdale, Arizona 85260 United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com Domain Name: 911PETITION.COM Created on: 21-Apr-05 Expires on: 21-Apr-06 Last Updated on: 27-Apr-05 *
(*) WARNING 1 long line(s) split I'm not backing up or refuting your claims, just saying based on this evidence alone it doesn't look like she's frauding anyone based on this. |
|