republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » US Cable Support » Inside Insight » UIS website
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
265
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
Got InsightBB Cheaper »
« Broadband in Macomb, IL ?  
AuthorAll Replies


IGGY
No Guru Just Here To Help
Premium,MVM
join:2001-03-30
Chatham, IL

UIS website

Anyone here use the UIS website? Seems they are currently having an issue. Or this might be DNS related. I can't access the site on two machines at this time. If someone else can get to the site. Then I know it's something on my end. If others can't access the site. Then I know it's a UIS or Insight issue. Thanks for the help.
--
Test Your Security Cable DiagnosticsIggyz Blog ZoneAlarm Help


EvilMoose

join:2003-02-26
Urbana, IL
I can get on it just fine.


IGGY
No Guru Just Here To Help
Premium,MVM
join:2001-03-30
Chatham, IL

No part of that site could be accessed last night from two different machines. I can access it now. Does the person who needed access to it last night no good now though. Their webmaster(s) / IT staff need to be a bit more on the ball. Not the first time this has occurred. I just wanted to make sure it wasn't a DNS issue.

On my machine their website won't let me use the back button to leave their site. Websites and webmasters that do this type of crap should be shot on site in my opinion. Nothing like using Spammer / malware site tactics on an edu domain.
--
Test Your Security Cable Diagnostics
Iggyz Blog ZoneAlarm Help

oldjack

join:2002-12-26
Springfield, IL


1 edit
said by IGGY See Profile:

On my machine their website won't let me use the back button to leave their site. Websites and webmasters that do this type of crap should be shot on site in my opinion. Nothing like using Spammer / malware site tactics on an edu domain.
It's not Spammer / malware site tactics. It's just bad web design.

When you go to the index page »www.uis.edu/, it checks to see whether you have flash.

If you do, it sends you to »www.uis.edu/index_flash.html

If you don't, it sends you to »www.uis.edu/index_image.html

If you press "back", it checks yet again to see whether you have flash and sends you to one page or the other.

So it's not malicious. It's just goobers who think the front page of their site is somehow enhanced by flash.
Forums » US Cable Support » Inside InsightGot InsightBB Cheaper »
« Broadband in Macomb, IL ?  


Tuesday, 24-Nov 00:42:02 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [83] New AT&T Ad Campaign Hits Back At Verizon
· [51] New Bill Takes Aim At Higher Verizon ETFs
· [30] AT&T Offers New Prepaid Wireless plans
· [29] Earthlink Suffers From Major E-mail Outage
· [25] Frontier Increases Modem Rental Fee
· [12] Vivendi In Way Of Comcast's NBC Desires
· [11] Charter Still Fighting With Creditors
· [7] Monday Morning Links
Most people now reading
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Big Bank Alternative to Bank of America? [General Questions]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Firearms: Ammo question. [General Questions]
· netTalk tk6000 [VOIP Tech Chat]
· What to use while demonoid is down? [Filesharing Software]
· Bell's Network Management practices page [TekSavvy]
· Gizmo5 has added a Google Voice section in its members area. [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Facebook Cures Depression [Canadian Chat]