 dsldan
join:2001-11-06 Forest Hills, NY
1 edit | WATCH OUT!!! EMAIL SCAM!!!
I got this Email trying to scam me this morning. It really had me going for awhile, until I switched on full headers and took a close look (that, and the billing date and amount are wrong). The Web site it links to is pretty good too. Someone went through a lot of time and trouble to set this up. --------------------- Return-Path: Received: from pc-24-151-27-242.newt1.ct.charter.com ([192.168.1.3]) by mta016.verizon.net (InterMail vM.5.01.06.06 201-253-122-130-106-20030910) with ESMTP id ; Tue, 1 Jun 2004 17:12:31 -0500 Received: from pc-24-151-27-242.newt1.ct.charter.com (24.151.27.242) by sc012pub.verizon.net (MailPass SMTP server v1.1.1 - 121803235448JY) with SMTP id for mta016.verizon.net; Tue, 1 Jun 2004 17:12:32 -0500 Delivered-To: X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft Exchange V6.0.6249.0 MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="--50876011828016157" X-Priority: 3 X-MSMail-Priority: Normal Subject: Payment Error From: "Verizon Billing" Message-Id: Date: Tue, 1 Jun 2004 17:12:32 -0500 Content-Type: text/html;
Dear Verizon Member
Dear Verizon Member,
The credit card we have on file for your Verizon DSL Internet service was declined when we attempted to bill you $34.95 on 06/01/2004 for your most recent service fees. For this reason, your service could be suspended. Please visit our Account Information pages, located at [[[WATCH OUT!!! THE LINK IS REALLY TO »secure-form-b.com !!!]]]»account.verizon.net, and update your credit card information as soon as possible.
Once your credit card information is updated, you will be charged immediately, as soon as payment is received.
Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. We look forward to continuing to serve you.
Sincerely,
Verizon Customer Care
|
|
  mikepd Discovery Premium,MVM join:2000-10-26 New Port Richey, FL clubs: | Why would anything from Verizon that is legit have a ct.charter.com as part of the header? Just on that alone, I would disregard it and notify both Verizon billing and security. -- Always Reach Beyond Your Grasp |
|
 dsldan
join:2001-11-06 Forest Hills, NY 1 edit | Well, yeah, easy for you to say, now that I posted full headers. Most folks don't have them on by default, myself included. So when I woke up this morning all bleary eyed and read this, it really had me going for awhile.... |
|
  EagleMaster People Need A Life Other Than Internet Premium,MVM join:2003-02-10 Glen Richey, PA clubs:
| reply to dsldan I agree with mike on this with a from pc-24-151-27-242.newt1.ct.charter.com ([192.168.1.3]) would make some wonder about where the email is from. -- "Life is like a story told by an idiot, half of it dosen't make sense, and the other half is just retarded..." (Unknown Author) |
|
  mikepd Discovery Premium,MVM join:2000-10-26 New Port Richey, FL clubs:
·Verizon FIOS
·Verizon Online DSL
·RoadRunner Cable
| reply to dsldan I did not mean what I said as anything negative but e-mails like that always trigger my alarm bells. That is why I make use of Sam Spade a lot and think everyone should have it or something similar. There are just too many crooks out there wanting to get hold of anything they can that is yours.
Also, thanks for putting it out there for I am sure there are plenty of members here who are not as paranoid as me.  -- Always Reach Beyond Your Grasp |
|
  Pretorious Theres more behind the pic than the wall Premium,MVM join:2003-01-08 clubs:  
·Verizon Online DSL
| reply to dsldan Since we're on the subject of email scams, heres another one to look out for. Many Verizon users have already received this, and it has been reported, I'm surprised that the link even still works. Be warned, if you receive this email DO NOT FILL OUT ANYTHING IN THE LINK!!! The email claims that someone has made various attempts to login to your EBay account, and even gives the ip of the intruder which makes them appear to have came from charterpipeline.net The following link is included in the email and asks that you verify your account info, but after looking CLOSELY at it, if you click the submit button the information being sent is actually being sent through a re-mailer (»mailgate.server-mail.com) to the email address of nasucvv@yahoo.es and NOT EBay! The actual page where you fill out the requested information is being hosted on the site »flowerkisses.com which has also been reported. They linked all the graphics to EBay and have put a great deal of time into setting this up to work, and it looks real!
Heres the link, again I say DO NOT FILL ANYTHING OUT ON THIS LINK!!!! It has scam written all over it!
»flowerkisses.com/ebaysecurityche···html.txt |
|
  PetePuma How many lumps do you want Premium,MVM join:2002-06-13 Arlington, VA | reply to dsldan Also noted here:
»Credit Card scam aimed at VOL users -- redefeat bush in november! |
|
  cdru Go Colts Premium,MVM join:2003-05-14 Fort Wayne, IN | reply to dsldan Easy solution. Don't pay by credit card autopay. Have it billed to your phone bill. Then you can pay by credit card if you so desire. It's hard for anyone to say that the credit card you use was declined if you don't put it on file. |
|
 bgoodbody
join:2002-05-08 North Truro, MA | This url: secure-form-b.com has been shut down. -- - Bill |
|
  lflarry1 Analog Is Not A Myth Premium join:2003-07-15 THE VOID 2 edits | reply to dsldan Here's another Phishing scam I posted on April 29. There always seems to be something or other out there.
»Yet another "Phishing" scam alert |
|
  tcp1 Premium join:2000-04-17 Herndon, VA
·Sprint Mobile Broa..
·Verizon FIOS
·Comcast
·ViaTalk
·T-Mobile US
·Bandwidth.com
| reply to cdru Even if you do use auto-pay, it's still really not a problem. Just don't be lazy and click on links in email.. if you want to do anything with your verizon account, just go to verizon.com... Of course, this might all change when this kinda stuff starts happening in conjunction with viruses that hijack one's hosts file.. (shudder) |
|
 dsldan
join:2001-11-06 Forest Hills, NY
| reply to bgoodbody said by bgoodbody : This url: secure-form-b.com has been shut down.
Great! 'cause I really love this: whoisprotector.com
I say, sue the both of them, the registrant and the one protecting him. Anyone who thinks that a whois protector is going to really protect them is dreaming....
Whois Info for: secure-form-b.com
Domain Name: secure-form-b.com Registrar: AAAQ.COM Whois Server: whois.aaaq.com Referral URL: »www.aaaq.com Name Server: a.dns.hostway.net Name Server: b.dns.hostway.net Status: Registrar_LOCK Updated Date 2004-05-31 Creation Date: 2004-05-31 Expiration Date: 2005-05-31
Registrant: WhoisProtector Inc. secure-form-b.com@whoisprotector.com 1 N. State, Suite 1250
Chicago, IL 60602
312-994-7654 Fax:
Administrative Contact: WhoisProtector Inc. secure-form-b.com@whoisprotector.com 1 N. State, Suite 1250
Chicago, IL 60602
312-994-7654 Fax:
Technical Contact: WhoisProtector Inc. techadmin@whoisprotector.com 1 N. State, Suite 1250
Chicago, IL 60602
312-994-7654 Fax:
Billing Contact: WhoisProtector Inc. secure-form-b.com@whoisprotector.com 1 N. State, Suite 1250
Chicago, IL 60602
312-994-7654 Fax:
|
|
  Rattler
join:2001-04-13 Havertown, PA
·Verizon Online DSL
·Verizon FIOS
| @dsldan:
To heck with suing them, put their nasty a$$es in jail. I'm getting sick and tired of these "white collar, cyber-criminals". 
[/RANT]
BTW, there's been a warning about a similar phishing scam on VOL's member site for a while:
»www2.verizon.net/announcements/phishing.asp -- Never raise your hands to your children, it leaves your groin unprotected. |
|
 bgoodbody
join:2002-05-08 North Truro, MA
·Comcast
| reply to dsldan Registrant: DomainPeople Inc. 1410-555 West Hasting Street Vancouver BC V6B 4N6 Canada Registrar: Domain people Inc. Domain Name: whoisprotector.com Created on .............Fri Feb 13 10: 48: 33 2004 Expires on .............Sun Feb 13 13: 48: 35 2005 Record last updated on .Fri Feb 13 10: 48: 39 2004 Status .................LOCK Administrative Contact: DomainPeople Inc. Christopher Kruk 1410-555 West Hasting Street Vancouver BC V6B 4N6 CA ( )604 639 1680 ()604 688 9013 kruk@domainpeople.com Technical Contact: DomainPeople Inc. Technical Administrator 1410-555 West Hasting Street Vancouver BC V6B 4N6 CA ( )604 639 1680 ()604 688 9013 domreg@domainpeople.com Billing Contact: DomainPeople Inc. Technical Billing 1410-555 West Hasting Street Vancouver BC V6B 4N6 CA ( )604 639 1680 ()604 688 9013 billing@domainpeople.com Domain servers in listed order: ns1.domainpeople.com 204.174.223.72 ns2.domainpeople.com 204.174.223.73 (whoisprotector.com) -- - Bill |
|
  Madness Like a flea circus at a dog show.
join:2000-01-05 Quincy, MA | reply to dsldan I got one of these myself but didn't have to blink twice to know it was bogus. Why? The charges have always been applied to my phone bill! -- Betamaxter |
|
  Pretorious Theres more behind the pic than the wall Premium,MVM join:2003-01-08 clubs:   | I wish someone would shut down the one I posted, it seems to be a fairly new one, they need to be wiped out before they ever get started. |
|
  Pretorious Theres more behind the pic than the wall Premium,MVM join:2003-01-08 clubs:   | Looks like it has been done!  |
|
 edelite
join:2004-05-24 US | awhile ago if you didn't notice  |
|