republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
2783
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·TekSavvy DSL Reviews ·TekSavvy Forum FAQ ·Speedtest results
page: 1 · 2 · 3
AuthorAll Replies


cognizantt

join:2009-06-13
Montreal, QC

mail blocking ?

i'm trying to send someone an email and it keeps bouncing - the error i receive is:

The following message to someone at bell dot net was undeliverable.
The reason for the problem:
5.1.0 - Unknown address error 550-"OU-002 (BAY0-PAMC1-F10) Unfortunately, messages from 206.248.143.162 weren't sent. Please contact your Internet service provider since part of their network is on our block list. You can also refer your provider to »mail.live.com/mail/troubleshooti···errors."

per whois, 206.248etc resolves to
ironport-out.teksavvy.com

could someone from tsi please verify this, thank you.


Inssomniak
The Glitch
Premium
join:2005-04-06
Cayuga, ON
kudos:1

Click for full size


bozz

@teksavvy.com

reply to cognizantt
Same problem trying send to a hotmail account.
Why?



cognizantt

join:2009-06-13
Montreal, QC

per sorbs-spam the IP has been blacklisted. so hotmail rejects it, as does bell dot net. which is weird cos i think the IP must be through bell ...


Walter Dnes

join:2008-01-27
Thornhill, ON
Reviews:
·TekSavvy DSL

reply to cognizantt
Do you have a personal domain with an SPF record? I had a similar problem. See thread »Is there a list of Teksavvy outbound mailservers? Basically, Teksavvy has changed their outbound mailserver from "ironport2-out.teksavvy.com" to "ironport-out.teksavvy.com" (note the missing "2"). If your SPF record only shows "ironport2-out.teksavvy.com" and the receiving system uses SPF, your email will be blocked until you add "ironport-out.teksavvy.com".



cognizantt

join:2009-06-13
Montreal, QC

1 edit

i'm just a regular client with tsi. no domain, no nothing.

note : i just checked my sent emails and the last time i sent her an email was 2 days ago and it went though. so something has changed on tsi's end since then.

edit - i opened a thread in the teksavvydirect thread


bozz41

join:2011-06-17
Cambridge, ON

well I posted in Direct forum as well, no reply and still not working.
I guess everyone that knows anything is taking the day off.
the only workaround i know of for now is to log into hotmail and send message from there.



Inssomniak
The Glitch
Premium
join:2005-04-06
Cayuga, ON
kudos:1

reply to cognizantt
Someone at TSI should get it removed from the blacklist.
--
OptionsDSL Wireless Internet
»www.optionsdsl.ca



TSI SteveO
TSI SteveO
Premium
join:2009-01-26
Chatham, ON
kudos:1

reply to cognizantt
I have contacted SORBS to have the IP de-listed.
--
TSI SteveO - TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Authorized TSI employee ( »TekSavvy FAQ »Official support in the forum )



cognizantt

join:2009-06-13
Montreal, QC

thank you



Leafybits

@teksavvy.com

reply to TSI SteveO
FYI - I'm having the exact same problem - with someone I email almost daily (person is with live.com) with the same message of "Please contact your Internet service provider since part of their network is on our block list."

How long does it normally take to be delisted? (I just tried again a few minutes ago - same issue)


dennisn

join:2010-07-30
Canada

I second the above question.



koitsu
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-16
Mountain View, CA
kudos:19

reply to Leafybits

said by Leafybits :

How long does it normally take to be delisted? (I just tried again a few minutes ago - same issue)

It's explained here. Bottom of the page, but I strongly suggest you read the entire thing, and slowly:

»www.sorbs.net/faq/spamdb.shtml

TekSavvy (like any ISP) needs to open up regular/constant communication channels with all of the DNSBL/RBLs out there. There are 15-20 of them at minimum. But even so, keep in mind that there is absolutely nothing Internet users can do about what DNSBL/RBLs a mail server (NOT TEKSAVVY) chooses to use. Welcome to the Internet, and why using DNSBL/RBLs is both a blessing and a curse.

For what the PTR record returned on lookup means (e.g. 127.0.0.6), please see this chart.
--
Making life hard for others since 1977.
I speak for myself and not my employer/affiliates of my employer.

dennisn

join:2010-07-30
Canada

reply to cognizantt
Any idea how teksavvy got onto that list? Surely something serious and credible must have occurred to blacklist an entire god-damned ISP?



Inssomniak
The Glitch
Premium
join:2005-04-06
Cayuga, ON
kudos:1

said by dennisn:

Any idea how teksavvy got onto that list? Surely something serious and credible must have occurred to blacklist an entire god-damned ISP?

Some earlier mention that this IP is new, and possibly was blacklisted already.
--
OptionsDSL Wireless Internet
»www.optionsdsl.ca


koitsu
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-16
Mountain View, CA
kudos:19

reply to dennisn

said by dennisn:

Any idea how teksavvy got onto that list? Surely something serious and credible must have occurred to blacklist an entire god-damned ISP?

SORBS will almost certainly provide TekSavvy a full copy of the mail that caused them (TS) to get added to the DNSBL. Some of the DNSBLs actually provide this in real-time in their database lookup tools; I don't remember if SORBS does.
--
Making life hard for others since 1977.
I speak for myself and not my employer/affiliates of my employer.

dennisn

join:2010-07-30
Canada

reply to cognizantt
Still blacklisted.

Maybe we should blacklist SORBS.



derekm

join:2008-02-26
kudos:1

This is kind of the worst.

3 days, and still can't communicate with hotmail.

What is everyone on TekSavvy doing for SMTP relay these days?



DrZEUS

join:2004-01-13
Mississauga, ON

reply to cognizantt
same problem here...cant send to any hotmail or live accounts without getting this error



TSI SteveO
TSI SteveO
Premium
join:2009-01-26
Chatham, ON
kudos:1

reply to cognizantt
SORBS finally got back to us.

206.248.143.162/32 has been delisted for the first time We will place this ticket in 'Resolved' state, as no further action seems to be pending on our part.

Looks like at this point, we are just waiting for propagation.
--
TSI SteveO - TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Authorized TSI employee ( »TekSavvy FAQ »Official support in the forum )

page: 1 · 2 · 3

Friday, 24-May 07:16:12 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 13.5 years online © 1999-2013 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics