 JosephL
join:2009-11-06
| Please Help, I think my computer is being monitored
Recently, I'd say within the last few weeks I have begun noticing through TcpView that my computer seems to be periodically connecting to a site called "objectsciences.com". The connections take place in both Firefox/IE and even Yahoo IM. They appear as for exp.- "host4.objectsciences.com" "host50.objectsciences.com" etc. and so on. I have scanned my computer and it appears clean. The thing that worries me though is that after searching for info on this site, I have found that it apparently resolves to a company called SAIC which apparently is a large contractor for NSA, FBI, CIA, Homeland Security, DOD and whomever else I really dont know.
I am just a typical novice home computer user and have honestly not done anything illegal. Can someone possibly offer any info on what this all may be? What is this site? Should I inquire with my ISP? Should I contact a lawyer? Should I expect that the FBI or something is going to come to my door? Assuming I am in fact for whatever reason somehow being monitored, is that even Legal then for them to do?
I really am in desperate need of some help or advice or any info here. Please can anyone help me?
Thank you |
|
 The Snowman Premium join:2007-05-20 |
A "whois" of that name did not show up anything.........
Block the site with your firewall or router an relax. You should also consider using a Hosts file. |
|
  NetFixer Freedom is NOT Free Premium join:2004-06-24 Murfreesboro, TN
·Vonage
·Cingular Wireless
·AT&T CallVantage
·AT&T Southeast
| reply to The Snowman Re: Please Help, I think my computer is being monitored
said by The Snowman : A "whois" of that name did not show up anything......... I don't know what you are using for your "whois", but....
-- History does not long entrust the care of freedom to the weak or the timid. -- Dwight D. Eisenhower The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants. -- Thomas Jefferson |
|
  NetFixer Freedom is NOT Free Premium join:2004-06-24 Murfreesboro, TN
·Vonage
·Cingular Wireless
·AT&T CallVantage
·AT&T Southeast
| reply to JosephL What process does TCPview show is making the connections in question?
If it is the ubiquitous "System" process, you might want to try using Process Explorer to better pinpoint the source. -- History does not long entrust the care of freedom to the weak or the timid. -- Dwight D. Eisenhower The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants. -- Thomas Jefferson |
|
 Full Power
join:2009-09-25 Houston, TX
1 edit | reply to JosephL said by JosephL :Recently, I'd say within the last few weeks I have begun noticing through TcpView that my computer seems to be periodically connecting to a site called "objectsciences.com". You have most likely installed a program or service that is connected to them. Why not call 1-877-999-7242 and ask them what it might be ?
Edit - It is unlikely that a company who registerd their name in the year 1989 is up to anything very nefarious today. |
|
  Blackbird Built for Speed Premium join:2005-01-14 Fort Wayne, IN 2 edits | reply to JosephL (post deleted by author) |
|
  DownTheShore Maddie Knows Poopie Premium join:2003-12-02 Beautiful NJ clubs: | reply to JosephL Are you involved with any kind of distributed network project? Perhaps they are legitimately receiving information as a part of that project. |
|
  Anav Sarcastic Llama? Naw, Just Acerbic Premium join:2001-07-16 Dartmouth, NS | reply to JosephL How did you find information on this company as others have shown/researched to indicate your information is bogus??
|
|
  NetFixer Freedom is NOT Free Premium join:2004-06-24 Murfreesboro, TN
·Vonage
·Cingular Wireless
·AT&T CallVantage
·AT&T Southeast
| said by Anav :How did you find information on this company as others have shown/researched to indicate your information is bogus?? Exactly what part of the information in this thread do you find to be bogus (not counting the bogus claim that "whois" did not return any information)?
Is your broken? -- History does not long entrust the care of freedom to the weak or the timid. -- Dwight D. Eisenhower The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants. -- Thomas Jefferson |
|
  caffeinator Coming soon to a cup near you.. Premium join:2005-01-16 Spokane, WA
·WebBand
1 edit | reply to JosephL Re: Please Help, I think my computer is being monitored
Some info on the company: »washington.bizjournals.com/washi···y28.html
--
My 9/11 Tribute..online since 9/14/01 Need an Avatar? Check out Wafen's Avatar Pages |
|
 JosephL
join:2009-11-06
| reply to JosephL Re: Please Help, I think my computer is being monitored
Thank you everyone for the advice and help, I really appreciate it.
The processes associated with this appear to be primarily my browsers, both Firefox and IE from what I can tell.
To the best of my memory, the only programs I had recently installed and now since deleted were ArcSoft Video Downloader, Flvsoft YouTube FLV Downloader and Erightsoft Super Video Converter.
Arcsoft was part of software with a Phillips Mp3 player I had recently purchased and came in the form of a Firefox browser add-on. I don't know much about this company so I can't conclusively say if it necessarily contained any malware, although I am noticing an "ArcSoft Connect Daemon - ACService.exe" entry in Hijack this even despite uninstalling it. The Arcsoft privacy policy does seem to mention something relating to information collection however.
I also have read some debate on the safeness of Super video converter. But I dont even know what remaining files it may have left after uninstall.
I am however unfortunately noticing the connection still randomly appearing upon arriving at whatever various legit webpages and also when I go to try to login to Hotmail or Yahoo mail.
I may just end up re-installing Windows. Although I have scanned the system directory with Avira, and Malwarebytes even in safe mode and both found nothing.
For the record I do beleive the Whois for this site is accurate. I don't know much of anything about this Corporation but it seems quite large and kinda scary.
Maybe I am just being paranoid, as someone suggested this company may also have other, however more hopefully seemingly benign "Scientific" or otherwise less evil data mining type stuff associated with it but who really knows. I doubt I will end up calling them on the phone to ask.
|
|
  fatness subtle Janitor join:2000-11-17 fishing
·EarthLink
Host: Earthlink DSL TekSavvy Forum Feature Requ.. Need Site Help? Rants, Raves, and ..
| I found this: »www.tv-cards.com/messageboard/vi···id=15361
It seems the Arcsoft thing may be running as a service, which you would need to turn off. »forums.techguy.org/all-other-sof···ain.html »www.arcsoft.com/Forum/forum_post···84f3b49e -- "I cannot teach him. The boy has no pants." |
|
  La Luna Surviving Ashraful Premium join:2001-07-12 Warwick, NY clubs: | reply to JosephL I (and many, many others) have use SUPER for a long time without issues. When the updater asks to connect to the internet, I deny it. I doubt it was the cause of your problem. |
|