  Slo Welcome To My Nightmare Premium join:2002-08-10 High Bridge, NJ
| [TWC] Warning Letter help
I have internet service with Time Warner in NW Ohio. At one point I started getting spam to a mailbox and it was benign till the flood gates opened 2 weeks ago... The spammers are from china and send 100+ emails per hour to two email addresses of mine. I deployed Zen.Spamhaus and SpamCop to filter the mail,,, 2 to 6 still get through an hour...
The bigger problem is TW has sent me a letter to download virus software,,, it will not stop these spam pirates from abroad... I have forwarded all my mail to Gmail at this point and ask some of the pros here what would be my best course of action here?
Why are my balls being busted while these pirates roam free deploying this crap???/rant... |
|
 patt2k
join:2009-01-16
| That is strange. Well what I can suggest you try this 12 month trial of MC-Affe antyvirus
last couple month antyvirus companies are giving promotions for their software like kapsersky,avira,mcaffe
here use this:
This Says Trial but you will get 12 month
|
|
  dcurrey Premium join:2004-06-29
·ViaTalk
1 edit | reply to Slo Ok maybe I a missing something. But unless TW thinks you are sending the spam why would they recommend virus software.
If you are running your own mail server the filters will kill it server level but TW will still see it maybe this traffic what they are complaining about.
You have little control over who sends you email. |
|
 K Patterson Premium,MVM join:2006-03-12 Columbus, OH | reply to Slo Take a look at some of that email. I'd bet it isn't addressed to you - rather it is bounces from people who have been spammed using your email address and possibly your computer. |
|
  Slo Welcome To My Nightmare Premium join:2002-08-10 High Bridge, NJ
1 edit | I'm starting to smell a rat... I sent off a lot of emails to spamcop in which they have you send notice of the spam to the offenders isp and I now think I have alerted RR as me being the offenderLOL,LOL,,, this is so funny... K your post led me in this direction... I have looked at a slew and they are bogus in every way,,, but all were address to me... -- The mod depot sponsor Rant all You Want |
|
 SanDiegoLV
join:2007-01-05 San Diego, CA | Simple solution
abandon/delete the two problem e-mail addresses.
Setup new e-mail addresses. |
|
  Slo Welcome To My Nightmare Premium join:2002-08-10 High Bridge, NJ
| said by SanDiegoLV :abandon/delete the two problem e-mail addresses. Setup new e-mail addresses. Not a solution as the email still passes RR on it's way to get a "not Known" here...
My concern is RR cutting me for no fault of my own... |
|
  dcurrey Premium join:2004-06-29
·ViaTalk
| Some type of gateway filtering would help. We I worked for a small isp we used Postini just pointed mx records to them and then they would filter and forward only good mail to us. Server mail dropped 10,000 plus messages a day.
If small business use you can try to find something like this. If personal you may have a hard time find service that would support such a small account.
Think google still allows personal domains to be used for free. »www.google.com/apps/intl/en/group/index.html so you could just use google instead of your server until the problem corrects itself. |
|
 K Patterson Premium,MVM join:2006-03-12 Columbus, OH
·RoadRunner Cable
| I don't thhink we understand the problem. RR does not send you antivirus warnings because you have too much INBOUND email.
OP, please scan and post the letter. I'd be almost certain it is warning you about a viral infection and that the email is a result, not the cause. |
|
  Slo Welcome To My Nightmare Premium join:2002-08-10 High Bridge, NJ
1 edit | reply to dcurrey said by dcurrey :Some type of gateway filtering would help. We I worked for a small isp we used Postini just pointed mx records to them and then they would filter and forward only good mail to us. Server mail dropped 10,000 plus messages a day. If small business use you can try to find something like this. If personal you may have a hard time find service that would support such a small account. Think google still allows personal domains to be used for free. » www.google.com/apps/intl/en/group/index.html so you could just use google instead of your server until the problem corrects itself. I checked on google apps,,, it is trial to pay and I might go with it... I am only a personal server with only my mail,,, no others period... I spent 2 days looking for a free for personal use filter to put in front of my server,,, I am a big fan of "open source"...
for the time being I am forwarding all my mail via Zoneedit to gmail accounts...
Thank you for your input... |
|
  Slo Welcome To My Nightmare Premium join:2002-08-10 High Bridge, NJ
1 edit | reply to K Patterson said by K Patterson :I don't thhink we understand the problem. RR does not send you antivirus warnings because you have too much INBOUND email. OP, please scan and post the letter. I'd be almost certain it is warning you about a viral infection and that the email is a result, not the cause. putting it thru the scanner now... |
|
  Slo Welcome To My Nightmare Premium join:2002-08-10 High Bridge, NJ
| reply to Slo Re: [TWC] Warning Letter!
 TW Warning pg1 |  TW Warning pg2 |
Just to add I use AVG and Hijackthis and monitor my started processes...
I think the crux of this letter lay in the 2nd paragraph... |
|
 K Patterson Premium,MVM join:2006-03-12 Columbus, OH | Yep. Head for the security forum, read their FAQ's and get busy. |
|
  Slo Welcome To My Nightmare Premium join:2002-08-10 High Bridge, NJ
| said by K Patterson :Yep. Head for the security forum, read their FAQ's and get busy. Yep what??? |
|
  dcurrey Premium join:2004-06-29 | Don't they still have a free virus software. CA security software or something like that. |
|
 K Patterson Premium,MVM join:2006-03-12 Columbus, OH | reply to Slo I'd say you have a nasty in your system and it is being used as part of a bot net. |
|
 DrDrew
join:2009-01-28 Apple Valley, CA
| reply to dcurrey said by dcurrey :Don't they still have a free virus software. CA security software or something like that. Yes. Get it here: »help.rr.com/HMSLogic/security_ab···pic.aspx |
|
  Slo Welcome To My Nightmare Premium join:2002-08-10 High Bridge, NJ
| reply to K Patterson
said by K Patterson :I'd say you have a nasty in your system and it is being used as part of a bot net. I disagree,,, it is spam to me... They have tried to relay in the past but I am secure... I monitor my router with Windump and Wireshark,,, all the spam has one destination,,, my mailbox...
Below is a typical header... I think this warning is the amount of email traffic to me and by redirecting my mail I have stopped the maddness for now...
I am using AVG and if I find a way to use another AV with/out installtion I'm all ears... I think AVG is good I despise system killing AV software...
If someone thinks this should be moved to security Move it,,, I will find it...
|
|
  amysheehan Premium,VIP,MVM join:1999-12-21 Huntington Beach, CA
·RoadRunner Cable
2 edits | From what I see YOU are spamming for perscription drugs online using the Road Runner pipe into your house to access the internet and spam.
The email states: get Hydrocodone and vicodin online easily
and includes: Purchase Rx~Medicationz Online!.. NO_Prescription_Required!
-- Proud Member of ASAP DSLR Phishtracker |
|
 K Patterson Premium,MVM join:2006-03-12 Columbus, OH | Yes, that looks like a bounce to me. |
|