 GuspazGuspazPremium,MVM join:2001-11-05 Montreal, QC kudos:16 | Bell starts hijacking DNS. sure, they won't abuse DPI... Just noticed this thread:
»[Internet] DNS Assistant
Bell has begun hijacking DNS and returning their advertisements instead of NXDOMAIN (this breaks spam filters and many other things). It looks like this:
»img39.imageshack.us/img39/5473/d···ound.jpg
This doesn't appear to be done by DPI, but simply on their DNS servers. Nevertheless, this should give you a sneak-peak of where Bell intends to go with DPI! |
|
 CanerisErikCanerisPremium,VIP join:2007-10-03 Toronto, ON kudos:2 | Great. Now Rogers and Primus aren't the only ones doing it.  -- Erik - Caneris Inc. |
|
 | reply to Guspaz Yes, I posed the question here: »DNS Down... UPDATE: FIXED 9am
Also, Bell stated they can market what they want with your data. It's not a privacy invasion at all they stated.
This would fall in line with what they told the CRTC.
Its an added revenue stream based on your typo's, IP, ect, etc... |
|
 1 edit | reply to Guspaz This country amazes me. The decline of Internet access, as low as it has already sunk, sinks lower.
It's like dialing a wrong # on your phone and instead of getting a 'sorry, this number is not in service' message you are FORCED to listen to a rogers/bell advertisement.
thank you CRTC. you sold out to the corporations. The people created a equal access network medium and the CRTC sold it out from under us.
dns entry #1 - 4.2.2.3 |
|
 R0CKYTSI RockyPremium,VIP join:2005-05-19 Chatham, ON | reply to Guspaz Hmm....  |
|
|
|
 dbusguy join:2003-03-03 Mississauga, ON | I use open dns, hopefully I won't see any of Bells ads |
|
 | reply to Guspaz This user must have some spyware or some plugin installed that is doing this, I am on bell sympatico and using bell sympatico dns servers and when I type in domains that dont exist I do not get taken to any page other than firefox's server not found page. |
|
 hmm @mc.videotron.ca | Whois query for domainnotfound.ca...
Results returned from whois.cira.ca:
Domain name: domainnotfound.ca Domain status: EXIST Domain number: 1701435 Approval date: 2006/11/24 Renewal date: 2009/11/24 Updated date: 2009/04/20
Registrar: Name: Webnames.ca Inc. Number: 70
Registrant: Name: Bell Canada Number: 272279 Description: Bell Canada
Administrative contact: Name: Van Tu Duong Job Title: Domain Names and Trade-marks Manager Postal address: Bell Canada Law 1000 de La Gauchetiere West, Suite 4100 Montréal QC H3B 5H8 Canada Phone: 1 514 7869356 Fax: 1 514 8704833 Email: trademarks@bell.ca
Technical contact: Name: DNS Admin Job Title: Technical support Postal address: Bell Canada 160 Elgin Street, Floor 12 Ottawa ON K2P 2C4 Canada Phone: 1 514 7869356 Fax: 1 514 8704833 Email: dns-admin@bellglobal.com
Name servers: ns1.webnames.ca 65.39.140.92 ns2.webnames.ca 64.85.60.137 ns3.webnames.ca 69.46.171.49
% WHOIS look-up made at 2009-07-22 21:00:28 (GMT) % % Use of CIRA's WHOIS service is governed by the Terms of Use in its Legal % Notice, available at »www.cira.ca/legal-notice/?lang=en % % (c) 2007 Canadian Internet Registration Authority, (»www.cira.ca/)
Also, it was confirmed by another user in that Bell topic. |
|
 | reply to Guspaz OpenDNS doesn't do this... |
|
 FarchordLost somewhere. join:2004-08-28 Shawinigan, QC kudos:1 Reviews:
·Cogeco Cable
| Yep it does, just type an invalid domain, you'll get redirected to a search page. |
|
 | reply to Guspaz I'm feeling lucky fixer for firefox. Blocks openDNS redirects. »addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/7993 |
|
 | reply to Guspaz why is it that there's a Bell related fiasco at least once a week?  |
|
 Reviews:
·TekSavvy DSL
| said by lyth:why is it that there's a Bell related fiasco at least once a week? Because their CEO is secretly Snidely Whiplash? |
|
 DavesnothereNo-BHELL-ity DOES have its Advantages join:2009-06-15 START&Cogeco kudos:6 2 edits | reply to justsomeguy said by justsomeguy:I am on bell sympatico and using bell sympatico dns servers and when I type in domains that dont exist I do not get taken to any page other than firefox's server not found page. FireFox is a good first step against a lot of operational garbage.
Not all of it, but enough to make it worthwhile making it your default browser (as I expect you have).
What do you get if you repeat the test with IE ? |
|
 Reviews:
·NBTel now Aliant
| reply to Farchord said by Farchord:Yep it does, just type an invalid domain, you'll get redirected to a search page. Sorry, it's the OpenDNS page and not Bell's... but yeah, it does that too. |
|
 Reviews:
·Cybersurf Intern..
1 edit | reply to Rand2k1 said by Rand2k1:said by lyth:why is it that there's a Bell related fiasco at least once a week? Because their CEO is secretly Snidely Whiplash? This is a message from your master. »img29.imageshack.us/img29/6083/cope.jpg
In all seriousness.
They arent hijacking dns... they are just redirecting failed name resolution.
Seems like a good thing to me. |
|
 2 edits | reply to Guspaz i see the black hat is that so we can add horns and other evil stuff as a user event?
from what i get also if my server went down and i had secondary DNS the secondary no longer works as bells hijack will then be the redirection. THAT'S theft and hacking as far as i know.... |
|
 CylonRedPremium,MVM join:2000-07-06 Bloom County | reply to ancodia said by ancodia:This country amazes me. The decline of Internet access, as low as it has already sunk, sinks lower. It's like dialing a wrong # on your phone and instead of getting a 'sorry, this number is not in service' message you are FORCED to listen to a rogers/bell advertisement. thank you CRTC. you sold out to the corporations. The people created a equal access network medium and the CRTC sold it out from under us. dns entry #1 - 4.2.2.3 Forced is a bit strong as you are in no way forced to read the page or spend any more than 2 seconds at it much less forced to read any of the ads. -- Brian
"It drops into your stomach like a Abrams's tank.... driven by Rosanne Barr..." A. Bourdain |
|
 Reviews:
·Start Communicat..
| reply to ancodia said by ancodia:It's like dialing a wrong # on your phone and instead of getting a 'sorry, this number is not in service' message you are FORCED to listen to a rogers/bell advertisement. You forgot the "helpful" suggestions on what number you actually meant to call. |
|
 4 edits | reply to CylonRed said by CylonRed:said by ancodia:This country amazes me. The decline of Internet access, as low as it has already sunk, sinks lower. It's like dialing a wrong # on your phone and instead of getting a 'sorry, this number is not in service' message you are FORCED to listen to a rogers/bell advertisement. thank you CRTC. you sold out to the corporations. The people created a equal access network medium and the CRTC sold it out from under us. dns entry #1 - 4.2.2.3 Forced is a bit strong as you are in no way forced to read the page or spend any more than 2 seconds at it much less forced to read any of the ads. I disagree. Forced is the correct word. You can't 'unsee' a word. You are 'forced' to see the word bell/rogers everytime you mistype something.
And just as it's not Bell/Rogers/Cogeco's place to police the Internet (which, btw they are trying to do via UBB and caps), they have no right to decide what you should see if you do something wrong. Must we be forced to view advertising/logos EVERYWHERE? When I pay my monthly fee for Internet access, where in the fine print does it say that I agree to subject myself to market targeted advertising from my Internet provider? Give them an inch and they'll take a mile ... (sorry, I'm old school -- give them cm and they'll take a km )
I can drive down the 401 and not see advertising, the same principals should apply to Internet access. You should be permitted to purchase access to the network without being subjected to any sort of advertising from the provider. But for some bizarre reason in Canada, you can't do that (unless you use one of the endangered 3rd party providers). Is that the type of Internet access you want? I sure don't. |
|