  DC DSL Stays crunchy even in milk Premium join:2000-07-30 Washington, DC
·Covad Communications
·Verizon Online DSL
| reply to xpkranger Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation
I've run into similar problems with newsletters being rejected by my host, even though I had the originating domains in my whitelist. The domain didn't have SPF records covering the sending box addresses (not uncommon if it's a large organization with a lot of ancillary SMTP boxes).
Make sure the originating domain ("bigbank.com") and any specific subdomains ("mail.bigbank.com" "someotherbox.bigbank.com") are at least in the domain whitelist (in addition to any client-side list). If GoDaddy uses domain whitelists before SPF matching, the messages should be delivered (though anyone spoofing the sender will get through as well). -- There is no giant fur-bearing trout. |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs: | reply to xpkranger E-Mail is such a finicky business...all of these spammers have made things hard for legit mail to get through! -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
|
|
 jester121 Premium join:2003-08-09 Lake Zurich, IL
·surpasshosting
·ViaTalk
| reply to xpkranger Yep, the 5.1.0 is Bigbank's internal message, the 554 is what it received from GoDaddy. Also keep in mind a third type of spam filtering, content based (Bayes) filtering. It looks for "spammy" phrases and assigns a score, and messages that score high enough may be junkfiled, or if it's even higher, outright rejected before the transmission completes.
Unless you tell it to, Exchange doesn't log each individual part of the SMTP transaction, it just throws the error message at the end. |
|
  xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| reply to jester121 Thanks, I'm familiar with crackberry (from reading up on the new 9630) and I'll go look for an Exchange + BES service over there. -- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ |
|
  xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| reply to jester121 Thanks. I would think you must be right, except that when I run bigbank's MX server record against the e-mail blacklist checker, it doesn't appear to be blocked by any of the listed organizations. I suspect GoDaddy has some internal list, they are blocking from, OR, as they stated in their support request response to Mr. H, that there could be something in the bigbank.com sender's e-mail that links to a blacklisted address. That would make sense, because not all of the bigbank.com e-mails get blocked. I'm trying to work with bigbank.com's support department to get them to forward an e-mail that was bounced (not just the bounce message) to me so that I can inspect it for any potential links to blacklisted IP's.
As for the error message, that's where my knowledge ended. I didn't know if the 554 error was generated by the senders SMTP server because it wouldn't try to send or because it received rejection message from GoDaddy. I think you've cleared it up, that it is in fact generated by the remote (GoDaddy) server in response to the attempted sending of the e-mail. -- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs: | reply to xpkranger I never got a bounceback :P. It went ... somewhere. -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
|
|
 jester121 Premium join:2003-08-09 Lake Zurich, IL
·surpasshosting
·ViaTalk
| reply to ViviTheMage said by ViviTheMage :I sent an email to wrh@misterH.com You know the whole "misterH" reference is just for conversation sake, right???? OP's client isn't really "misterh.com".... 
OP, clearly Godaddy is seeing the bank's e-mail as somehow spammy (the 554 error message). I'd guess that a lot of banks have problems with this due to all the bank phishing stuff out there; any e-mail claiming to be from a bank gets over scrutinized.
If you're interested in Exchange + BES, check out the blackberry forums, like crackberry.com or whatever else is out there. They usually have sponsored vendors who will host Exchange + BES for a monthly fee. |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs:
| reply to xpkranger I sent an email to wrh@misterH.com
and it did not bounceback, so yeah ... I think it's safe to assume you are being blacklisted somehow.
If you go into that URL I linked earlier on, you can enter your SMTP server IP and it'll say where you are blacklisted from, both your xx.11 and xx.10 are blacklisted at the same place, I am curious if the whole /24 is. -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
|
|
  xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs: | reply to xpkranger I have opened a trouble ticket with bigbank.com. |
|
  xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| reply to xpkranger The plot thickens. Now here is something that is starting to make a bit more sense. I got a copy of the original bounce and it looks to my non-exchange server self that it never even leaves bigbank.com's SMTP server, perhaps due to GoDaddy being blacklisted as ViviTheMage indicated.
-- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs:
| reply to xpkranger haha, OH! I mis-interpreted. If godaddy can't do anything about blocking themselves...you need to move to a new host!
You are 100% sure that the user sending emails is inputting the correct email address?
Also, any chance he could forward you a bounceback, so we can see exactly what it's saying? -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
|
|
  xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| reply to ViviTheMage Still confused (seems to be my normal state lately). The sender joeshmoe@bigbank.com is receiving bounce messages directly from GoDaddy when they attempt to send to anyname@misterH.com. GoDaddy wouldn't blacklist their own servers. -- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs: | reply to xpkranger It is on one blacklist.
»www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
|
|
  xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| reply to ViviTheMage
said by ViviTheMage :Sounds a bit messy...basically, where is Mr. H's email server? What is that ip address? If it's getting spamhouse filtered, the clients bounceback would say that if I recall. Mr. H is sending and receiving from GoDaddy addresses as follows: So, I don't Mr. H is being filtered, he can send and receive just fine, but inbound to him is the problem (but only for bigbank.com).
-- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs:
| reply to xpkranger Sounds a bit messy...basically, where is Mr. H's email server? What is that ip address? If it's getting spamhouse filtered, the clients bounceback would say that if I recall. -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
|
|
  xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| reply to ViviTheMage So you're saying that there is another public mx server from bigbank.com that I don't see because it all comes technically from their listed MX server? FWIW, the senders are in the home office. -- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ |
|
  xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| reply to ViviTheMage said by ViviTheMage :What is the IP address of his shared server? That is probably what's getting blocked/blacklisted. Sorry, not sure what you mean. Bigbank.com has their own public ip for their mx servers (not shared) and when users from Bigbank send to Mr. H, they receive bounces from GoDaddy indicating possible viruses, etc. GoDaddy uses spamhaus to filter their e-mail. Spamhaus has no record of blocking bigbanks mx record. -- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ |
|
  xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| reply to ViviTheMage He doesn't have hosted exchange now, but is interested in it to be able to share his calendar with his sec'y. Possibly even a combo of hosted exchange and hosted BES for similar reasons. Anyway, he's just using POP now. I didn't know how difficult (or easy) it would be to divorce his webhosting from his e-mail. The senders at bigbank.com are receiving the bounce from the GoDaddy servers, indicating (very unspecically) that something in their e-mail indicated possible virus content or other unspecified malicious content. |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs:
| reply to twizlar said by twizlar :Agreed, I would imagine his local mail server is blacklisted. When you get to those big guys, it happens more often then you'd think. -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
|
|
  twizlar I dont think so. Premium join:2003-12-24 Brantford, ON | reply to ViviTheMage Agreed, I would imagine his local mail server is blacklisted. |
|