
how-to block ads
|
 therube
join:2004-11-11 Randallstown, MD
| reply to katarina Re: winxp-antivir-on-line-scan
Why?
It is not Google, cause you can get the same results if you perform the search on Yahoo & open the site from there.
So if it is not Google & not Yahoo, then what?
And why is it that (sometimes) only the first time you attempt it, you are redirected.
davies has to be hacked, doesn't it? Perhaps from a "gif"? Perhaps dealing with this line, onLoad="MM_preloadImages('images/sales_off-over.gif', ...
There are also various "MM" functions, like, function MM_preloadImages(). Their usage (in general, I don't know about on this site) appear legit.
That part of the code is run by JavaScript.
But you are redirected in SeaMonkey with NoScript blocking JavaScript, so that makes me believe it has something to do with the onLoad & a "gif"? | |  mysec Premium join:2005-11-29
| said by therube : Yes, it can be exploited in other search engines. See
»clsc.net/research/google-302-page-hijack.htm | |  therube
join:2004-11-11 Randallstown, MD
edit: September 8th, @12:36AM
| reply to therube Maybe someone can make sense of this. And as I thought, you are going to davies, but then sent to malware site.
| |   Its a Secret Rabidly yours Premium join:2008-02-23 Kelowna, BC
·Shaw
edit: September 8th, @12:02AM
| It looks to me like the referrer link has been encrypted/ scrambled so you can't see where it's pointed to. I may be wrong, but I don't think so.
Opinions on this?
PS - I used to use code like this to protect my private js from being nicked. -- "In the future, that which is not mandatory will be illegal" | |  therube
join:2004-11-11 Randallstown, MD | reply to mysec I'm not finished reading it yet, but it appears that we should see discrepancy in the listed search engine (green) URL & the actual website URL? But in this case, they are the same? | |  therube
join:2004-11-11 Randallstown, MD
edit: September 8th, @12:28AM
| Ok, looks like it is going to be related to the search engine?
I manually open up davies. I click the Product Line link, the & product.html page opens.
I manually open up davies. I manually change the URL line to read davies/product.html (but do not press return). I spoof the referrer to, »search.yahoo.com/. The malware page opens.
Note that many times, after first doing this, it is not repeatable. | |  therube
join:2004-11-11 Randallstown, MD
edit: September 8th, @12:56AM
| »www.msn.com/ works to.
So by using a spoofer, simply by setting the URL & the Referrer, I can get the malware site to load.
I've tried a number of other "likely" search engines as the referrer (including www.live.com & ask.com) but only Google, Yahoo, & MSN seem to make it click.
Now, mysec's link mentions 302's & so do my captures, HTTP/1.x 302 Found.
Note that /cache/ or cookies may have an affect on what you see or don't see. Like if a page is in /cache/ & I resend the spoof, I can't capture it again, until I clear /cache/.
(I see a "koma3504" to the left of this post. Does anyone else? What does it mean?) | |  mysec Premium join:2005-11-29
| reply to therube
said by therube :Maybe someone can make sense of this. And as I thought, you are going to davies, but then sent to malware site. Yes, just like the old Google exploit. Here are the firewall alerts:
First, to google search:

Then clicking on the link to davieshardware.com:

Then a page 302 error redirects to the site that calls out for the WinAntiVir files. From therube's code:
hxxp://87.248.180.90/in.html?s=ipw2

WhoIS:
said by Its a Secret :It looks to me like the referrer link has been encrypted/ scrambled so you can't see where it's pointed to. I may be wrong, but I don't think so. Probably - I don't see a URL in therube's code but the firewall shows:

WhoIS:
Not much info - can someone else search for this?
Now we are at the cleverest part of the exploit because no html page is cached in IE. (I cannot get the exploit to run in Opera).
Only the .gif files and the .js files are cached which do the work:

If you look at the screen after everything is loaded, it is a series of .gif files but no html file and no source code.
But if I load directly into the browser:
hxxp://87.248.180.90/in.html?s=ipw2
I get the the html file and can watch the code loading everything (thanks therube for getting that URL):
Now, can someone explain how these images are loaded onto my browser screen and there is no html file cached?
--- | |   Its a Secret Rabidly yours Premium join:2008-02-23 Kelowna, BC
·Shaw
| said by mysec : Now, can someone explain how these images are loaded onto my browser screen and there is no html file cached? It may be here in the code: HTTP/1.x 200 OK Date: Mon, 08 Sep 2008 03:46:27 GMT Server: Apache/1.3.41 (Unix) PHP/5.2.6 X-Powered-By: PHP/5.2.6 Expires: Thu, 19 Nov 1981 08:52:00 GMT Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate, post-check=0, pre-check=0 Pragma: no-cache Connection: close Transfer-Encoding: chunked Content-Type: text/html ---------------------------------------------------------- -- "In the future, that which is not mandatory will be illegal" | |  mysec Premium join:2005-11-29 | Thanks -- very clever in covering tracks, don't you think?
Another thing - why doesn't the last URL 66.232.126.192 appear in that code?
--- | |   Its a Secret Rabidly yours Premium join:2008-02-23 Kelowna, BC
·Shaw
edit: September 8th, @01:21AM
| said by mysec : Another thing - why doesn't the last URL 66.232.126.192 appear in that code? Maybe why? It looks like it self-refers to the doc (page) in question...maybe?
if(self.parent.frames.length!=0){self.parent.location=document.location}
-- "In the future, that which is not mandatory will be illegal" | |  therube
join:2004-11-11 Randallstown, MD
edit: September 8th, @01:21AM
| reply to mysec Two shots, one direct, one spoofed. | |  mysec Premium join:2005-11-29 | Can you explain more?
--- | |   Its a Secret Rabidly yours Premium join:2008-02-23 Kelowna, BC
·Shaw
edit: September 8th, @01:37AM
| The second and fourth jpg's show the 'GET' command, and I'd hazard that's where the breach happened. One and three hit the actual page.
FYI - It looks like jpg 2 shows a different response-head that may well point to the actual target in jpg 4. -- "In the future, that which is not mandatory will be illegal" | |   jeno
@bellsouth.net | reply to mysec Said by mysec: "Another thing - why doesn't the last URL 66.232.126.192 appear in that code?"
This might help explain it... »www.robtex.com/ip/66.232.126.192.html#a4 | |  therube
join:2004-11-11 Randallstown, MD
edit: September 8th, @10:04PM
| reply to mysec At first I was going to say "explain more, what?".
I guess I could have explained more. I think I tried, but OFTEN the workings of this forum confuse me.
Anyhow, originally I was just going to describe the screenshots saying that they confirm what has been posted so far.
Further to that, & to explain a bit more ... I cleared my cache, & loaded davies directly - the 1st shot.
Note Data size: 9563, the size of the cached html file. And the response, 200 OK.
Cleared my cache again, but this time loaded davies, & also spoofed the referrer as msn.com - the 2nd shot.
This time Data size: 0, & the response, 302 Found. Not to mention the Location:. | |   papafz
@comcast.net
| reply to therube hey there... i am getting this on one of my client's sites. Going nuts trying to figure it out, but all of your observations about are exactly the same as mine (except i didnt get as far as u did in figuring out what caused it).
try searching for 'Kenny Meez'
If I go directly to KennyMeez.com i do not get the popup.. if i go from a Google result, i do but usually only the first time.
any help would be greatly appreciated. | |  mysec Premium join:2005-11-29 | It looks like the same exploit. Clearing the cache usually lets you connect a second time.
Contact the server which hosts the site.
--- | |   Kayrac Premium join:2001-09-29 Lee, NH
| reply to papafz said by papafz :
hey there... i am getting this on one of my client's sites. Going nuts trying to figure it out, but all of your observations about are exactly the same as mine (except i didnt get as far as u did in figuring out what caused it).
try searching for 'Kenny Meez'
If I go directly to KennyMeez.com i do not get the popup.. if i go from a Google result, i do but usually only the first time.
any help would be greatly appreciated. »www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=%2···aq=f&oq=
(thats a google link for the /in blahblah that the exploit uses) the first link is macafee site advisor, the second is this thread, the next are ways to fix it
happy hunting 
-Brian | |
-
|