 netPoser
join:2003-02-06 Spring Hope, NC
| Suddenlink and Phorm (webwise.com)?
Anyone know if Suddenlink is using these folks? I did find a webwise.com cookie on my PC which is a domain phorm owns.
It's a pretty sleazy company that pays an ISP to intercept your web pages to provide targeted ads based on your web surfing--basically it's spying on you without your knowledge.
BT in the UK got a ton of bad press for using these guys--pretty scary stuff.
Steve Gibson goes into detail on how this works on his podcast: »www.grc.com/securitynow.htm Transcript - »www.grc.com/sn/sn-151.txt
More on phorm: »en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phorm
Blocking tool for FireFox: »www.dephormation.org.uk/?page=3 |
|
 DJBuzz24
join:2008-07-01 Fort Smith, AR | I don't have any of those cookies. I've never been to that site, don't use any of SL's services (do I even have a username?), don't use their DNS servers, etc. I can't say they *dont'* use Phorm, but I have no proof that they do, either. |
|
  nerdy1
@suddenlink.net
| reply to netPoser Yes I'm anon, and I've got to stay that way. 
If Suddenlink was using this, I'm 99% sure I'd know about it.
Plus I don't have any of those cookies on my machine.
I'd think you could delete it and add it to your blocked cookies list. |
|
 netPoser
join:2003-02-06 Spring Hope, NC
| Ad-Targeting Companies and Critics Prepare for Senate Scrutiny
The Senate Commerce Committee will hold a hearing Wednesday to look at the policy issues raised by advertising that is targeted to the online behavior of Internet users. Some of the participants are trying to bolster their positions in advance. »bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/07/0···crutiny/
And it made it to slashdot »yro.slashdot.org/yro/08/07/08/226227.shtml |
|
 DJBuzz24
join:2008-07-01 Fort Smith, AR | Nerdy1, if I worked for SuddenLink I'd prefer my anonymity as well. |
|