  SYNACK Just Firewall It Premium,Mod join:2001-03-05 Venice, CA
·Comcast Formerly ..
Host: Networking Virtual Private Ne.. Netgear ZyXEL
| reply to SYNACK Re: SMS sent to cell phone
Here's an interesting followup to this after checking my online bill in more details. We have 4 lines on that account and not all numbers are adjacent. Still, all phones received the same text message literally within seconds of each other.
I called t-mobile to see if there are any security measures in place to possibly prevent such things in the future, similar to e.g. spam filters for e-mail.
I am curious if the target numbers were skimmed from the stolen t-mobile data. |
|
  SYNACK Just Firewall It Premium,Mod join:2001-03-05 Venice, CA | reply to MGD phishing MMS received on cell (t-mobile):
310@tmomail.net: We found a problem in your California account. Call urgently at (888) 666-9128
(Googling that number show numerous similar messages) |
|
 MGD Premium,MVM join:2002-07-31 Fort Lauderdale, FL
| reply to NightVisor Re: SMS sent to cell phone
Your number must have been one of the first batches called. It has now shown up on several of the phone number websites:
»800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-877-245-1472
»whocallsme.com/Phone-Number.aspx/8772451472
»www.callercomplaints.com/SearchR···245-1472
MGD |
|
  Avelos
@qwest.net
| reply to NightVisor That's funny, I got the same text today. I noticed that it said receive instead of received after looking at it a couple of times. I didn't even bother calling, especially after that grammatical error. So then I googled (hah it's a verb) the 3878 text number and nothing showed up. Then I searched the message through google and found that people actually gave up their account information lol. |
|
  SnowyOne Premium join:2003-04-05 Kailua, HI
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless
| reply to NightVisor said by NightVisor :*deadpan* Define "special". *deadpan:end* "rare, uncommon, unique..." in a complimentary way |
|
  nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL | reply to NightVisor Good thinking. And thanks for posting. |
|
 NightVisor Premium join:2001-02-28 Rialto, CA
·RoadRunner Cable
| reply to SnowyOne *deadpan* Define "special". *deadpan:end*
I wanted to see what the message hook was. I already knew it was a scam, but the number didn't show up in any search engines. Since this thread (the whole forum, actually) is regularly monitored by Google et al., might as well drop in the number and the message so if someone else searches, they'll find the info. |
|
  SnowyOne Premium join:2003-04-05 Kailua, HI
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless
| reply to NightVisor said by NightVisor :At that point, I hung up. Wow! You're in a special class of people. Off the top of my head I'll say less than 1 in a half million people who receive these respond to them. Did you call out of irritation or were you initially unsure about the message? |
|
 NightVisor Premium join:2001-02-28 Rialto, CA
·RoadRunner Cable
| reply to nwrickert From: 3736
Message: customer.notification@visa.com / "Card Block Alert". To find out why you receive this alert call 1-877-245-1472. Thank you. /
What happens when I call that number? "Your credit union has identified your account as having fraudulent entries and your credit card has been blocked. Please stay on the and a credit union security specialist will assist you."
*sounds of call being transfered*
"To assist you with your account, please enter your credit card number"
At that point, I hung up. |
|
  SnowyOne Premium join:2003-04-05 Kailua, HI | reply to MGD Re: [Phish] Paypal vish
Here's where he was routing the calls to sip:cacat0099@proxy01.sipphone.com |
|
 Rowan Premium join:2008-10-16 Longview, TX
| reply to nwrickert Re: [Phish] Telephone phishing thread
My SO has a new cell phone -- TWO DAYS OLD -- and has received 6 calls today (one per hour or so). The first few were "caller unknown", but the most recent call showed up as 877-648-0958. I've called that no. from another phone and I get 'invalid number'. They've left no messages, so not sure what they're up to, but Goog sez lots of other ppls are having this recent prob with this same no.
Just thought I'd report in.
~Rowan |
|
 MGD Premium,MVM join:2002-07-31 Fort Lauderdale, FL
| reply to nwrickert Re: [Phish] Paypal vish
I thought it was Italy, then I wondered how low the IQ of a Phisher would have to be in order to think that a victim would make an international call to Italy to contact PayPal support.
I guess that must be the downside of dropping out of Phishing 101.
MGD |
|
  nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL | reply to MGD Yes, I assume foreign.
If I am reading it correctly, the "00" is a prefix for US callers, then the 39 is the international code for Italy. -- AT&T dsl; Speedstream 5100b modem; openSuSE 11.0; firefox 3.0.11 |
|
 MGD Premium,MVM join:2002-07-31 Fort Lauderdale, FL
| reply to nwrickert said by nwrickert :Excerpt from vish: Restore your account . Please Call our Card Department at 0039-069-165-7836 A foreign number perhaps ?, there are too many digits for it to be a US number
MGD |
|
  nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest
| reply to nwrickert Excerpt from vish:
Restore your account . Please Call our Card Department at 0039-069-165-7836
-- AT&T dsl; Westell 327w modem/router; openSuSE 11.0; firefox 3.0.11 |
|
  nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest
| reply to nwrickert F & M Bank Express Online - vish at (641) 410 2293
said by vish body : Dear F&M Bank customer,
We are hereby notifying you that we've recently suffered a phishing-Attack. Beca use we have registered too many frauds we suspended your account. For security r easons you must call us and provide the requested information so we can verify t he integrity of your F&M ExpressOnline Banking account. If you fail to complete the verification in the next 24 hours your account will be blocked.
***************************************************
Call us at: +1 (641) 410 2293 and confirm your identity.
***************************************************
Note: The call is free of charge for you!
Please comply and thanks for understanding.
\251 2009 F&M Bank
Headers:
-- AT&T dsl; Westell 327w modem/router; openSuSE 11.0; firefox 3.0.5 |
|
  nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest
| reply to nwrickert Capital One vish
A vish for Capital One, at +1(315-235-1392)
said by mail body : In our terms and contidions you have agreed to state that your account must always be under your control or those you designate at all times. We have noticed some activity related to your account that indicates that order parties may have tried gaining access or control of your information in your account.
Therefore, to prevent unauthorized access to your Capital One Bank Internet Banking account,you are limited to five failed login attempts in a 24-hour period. You have exceeded this number of attempts.*
To reactivate your debit card , please call: +1(315-235-1392)
Copyright Capital One Bank, All Rights Reserved.
Headers:
-- AT&T dsl; Westell 327w modem/router; openSuSE 11.0; firefox 3.0.5 |
|
  Doctor Four My other vehicle is a TARDIS Premium join:2000-09-05 Dallas, TX
·AT&T U-Verse
| reply to nwrickert Re: [Phish] Telephone phishing thread
Credit Union Access:
Dear CU Member:
This is not a promotional e-mail. Please call us immediately at (877) 898-7930 regarding recent restriction placed on your account. We're available 24/7 to take your call.
Please disregard this e-mail if you've already call us since the date this e-mail was sent.
We appreciate your prompt attention to this matter.
Thank you CU Fraud Prevention Security Department
-- "The trouble with computers, of course, is that they are very sophisticated idiots." - Doctor Who (from Robot)
|
|
  Doctor Four My other vehicle is a TARDIS Premium join:2000-09-05 Dallas, TX
·AT&T U-Verse
| reply to nwrickert U.S. Bank telephone phish (there were two of these, with the same image and telephone number):
#1:
#2
The body of the email is an image only (the screenshot above). It is clickable, but appears to lead to the real U.S. Bank website.
-- "The trouble with computers, of course, is that they are very sophisticated idiots." - Doctor Who (from Robot)
|
|