Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » DNS Hacks: 'Phishing 2.0' » Wierd...
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
46
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Post a:
Post a:
This isn't just old. This is over 10 years old. »
« Same Old Song and Dance?  
AuthorAll Replies


Mercurybird
Premium
join:2004-06-24
Hooks, TX
·Allegiance Communi..
·CableOne

Wierd...

Along these lines... today I got one of the newsletters from Microsoft in the email that I'm subscribed to. At the time I was test driving Eeye's Blink software. Lo and behold it popped up and said it had protected me from identity theft.

It told me that the address the email showed to be coming from was a bogus one-thing-or-another but the real address was Microsoft's.

Now if it had told me it was the other way around I would have believed it. Figure that one out... How is security software going to figure out stuff like that, in a way that people can make sense of it?
--
You're an American. You get a free pass, but nobody rides for free.


TKJunkMail
Enjoy the sun
Premium
join:2002-03-03
Avalon, NJ
·Sprint Mobile Broa..
·Comcast


1 edit
said by Mercurybird See Profile :

Along these lines... today I got one of the newsletters from Microsoft in the email that I'm subscribed to. At the time I was test driving Eeye's Blink software. Lo and behold it popped up and said it had protected me from identity theft.

It told me that the address the email showed to be coming from was a bogus one-thing-or-another but the real address was Microsoft's.
I get those MS newsletters too. Here is why Eeye is flagging it:
The msg ID in the headers has an entry like this:
Message-ID:
which implies that the msg came from a domain called phx.gbl. There is, of course no such internet domain name.
The from field has this:
Microsoft@newsletters.microsoft.com

Since the domains don't match Eeye flags it as potentially bogus.

So why is Microsoft doing this? And it is coming from Microsoft.

See a brief discussion here:
»artific.com/articles/2005/12/27/···cally_u/
and look for the parts that discuss phx.gbl.

For more do a google search on phx.gbl:
»www.google.com/search?num=100&hl···G=Search

--
Internet News
My BLOG
My Web Page


en102
Canadian, eh?

join:2001-01-26
Valencia, CA
Possibly oversight on Microsoft's part.
Unfortunately, it will cause many messages to be rejected as spam, because the header isn't legit.
--
Canada = Hollywood North
Forums » DNS Hacks: 'Phishing 2.0'This isn't just old. This is over 10 years old. »
« Same Old Song and Dance?  


Friday, 27-Nov 06:51:28 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [115] Time Warner Cable Fires Broadside At Broadcasters
· [109] New AT&T Ad Campaign Hits Back At Verizon
· [95] Apple Joins AT&T Verizon Snark Fest
· [87] New Bill Takes Aim At Higher Verizon ETFs
· [70] TiVo Sees Record Customer Losses
· [64] In-Flight Internet Headed For Bumpy Landing?
· [56] Thanksgiving Open Thread
· [38] ICANN Slams DNS Redirection
· [36] Senators Want ACTA Made Public
· [35] Despite Billions In USF Fees, U.S. Libraries Lack Bandwidth
Most people now reading
· Newegg Black Friday Sale started [Users Find Hot Deals]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· SSD [Computer Hardware Discussion/Reviews]
· Bell Response to PIPEDA Request [TekSavvy]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Slow speeds in the evenings [TekSavvy]
· HOW-TO: QoS and Tomato (fixes "choppy voice") [MagicJack]
· Whats the big deal about being "Old School"....? [World of Warcraft]
· Not strictly "Home" related - but WOW anyways... [Home Repair & Improvement]