 navalpatel
join:2003-07-28 Lubbock, TX | JuiceBoosted
Thank goodness all those spam postings stopped! * relief * |
|
  StudioTech S2409W plus SA4250HD
join:2001-10-10 Edison, NJ 1 edit | Internet acceleration nonsense
Either you have the speed available to you or you don't. No program can make faster what you don't have. |
|
  Drex Beer..It's What's For Dinner Premium join:2000-02-24 La Place, LA | Rat
Like my mamma always told me, if it looks like Spyware, smells like spyware, tastes like spyware, it's spyware. -- Star Wars Galaxies -- The best form of birth control on the market. |
|
  HiVolt 30 Premium join:2000-12-28 Toronto, ON clubs:
·TekSavvy Solutions..
·Bell Sympatico
| reply to navalpatel Re: JuiceBoosted
said by navalpatel :Thank goodness all those spam postings stopped! * relief * They made their money and ran. Bastards.  -- }·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´ |
|
 mishaq Premium join:2004-01-24 Richardson, TX clubs: | reply to navalpatel Traffic redirected through their servers? The must have a hell of a lot of bandwidth if they want to do that at least somewhat successfully -- Damn you FCC! |
|
  Derch Premium join:2004-10-16 Tulsa, OK
·Cox HSI
·AT&T U-Verse
·Cricket Broadband
·AT&T DSL Service
| From them...
From Marketscore's site:
"We are committed to describing what information we collect about our panelists and their Internet usage, how we collect this information, the steps that we take to protect the information provided to us, and the use we make of this information."
...which means spyware! Stop kidding yourself MarketScore... |
|
  Karl Bode News Guy join:2000-03-02
Host: Road Runner PC gaming GAMES PC gaming Tech
| He's trying to suggest that because I install the product willfully it can't be spyware.
But they're luring me in with promises of speed and web-security, when their real motivation is marketing cash.
Part of the reason it's so hard for lawmakers to legislate this stuff, because they're all hung up on what to call it..... -- Vote Palpatine/Skywalker '05: Moral Values for the Republic! |
|
  Dennis Premium,Mod join:2001-01-26 Algonquin, IL
·AT&T Yahoo
Host: Chicago Users Find Hot Deals Users find Hot Dea.. Requests for Hot D.. Home Repair & Impr..
| The issue isn't spyware
It's not that the program itself is spyware..it's that it redirects all traffic through it's own servers where it could be monitored/viewed/recorded....etc.
Baaaaaad idea. -- I want to be different, just like everybody else.
Beer Review's |
|
  Karl Bode News Guy join:2000-03-02
Host: Road Runner PC gaming GAMES PC gaming Tech
| reply to HiVolt Re: JuiceBoosted
quote: They made their money and ran. Bastards.
Actually I think thanks in part to this community and the community at Scam.com, we got them shut down before they could deliver the real pitch. -- Vote Palpatine/Skywalker '05: Moral Values for the Republic! |
|
  Karl Bode News Guy join:2000-03-02 | reply to Dennis Re: The issue isn't spyware
"Heeeeyyyyy, C'mon, trust us! We ain't doin' nothin' shady with it!" -- Vote Palpatine/Skywalker '05: Moral Values for the Republic! |
|
 kpatz MY HEAD A SPLODE Premium join:2003-06-13 Manchester, NH
| reply to Drex Re: Rat
If they say it isn't spyware, that means it is.
Just like when I get email that says "This is not spam." Well, maybe it's not the salty canned meat product, but it is still spam! -- SMTP: Spam and Malware Transfer Protocol. Also used on rare occasion to transmit e-mail messages. |
|
 VirtualLarry Premium join:2003-08-01
| reply to mishaq Re: JuiceBoosted
said by mishaq :Traffic redirected through their servers? The must have a hell of a lot of bandwidth if they want to do that at least somewhat successfully It may be done in a similar manner to other "internet acceleration" plans, such as Propel, that uses an edge-based caching network of servers. Only in this case (I assume, based on the story description), they are logging the URL requests for marketing purposes. (As far as I am aware, Propel is legitimate and doesn't do that.) |
|
 MightyPez
join:2002-05-01 Saint Paul, MN
·Comcast
| But the best excuse is still....
Anyone remmeber a video player called Radlight that was removing programs like Adaware when you installed it? An admin on the forums (some insist an employee or owner) had this to say about it: quote: But take a closer look at the "spyware" programs. e.g. SaveNow. SaveNow HELPS people when bying over the internet. You want to buy a pack (a few hundreds) of recordable CDs.... searching on the net.. AH, here...Oh, wait a moment, a popup window appears. When I click on the popup-window I can buy a pack of my favourite CDs and save up to 15% That's cool. I would even call it "HELPWARE". I'm happy. I got my CDs, some people got some money and everyone is happy.
Original Slashdot article. Search for "helpware" to see the full posting. |
|
  Derch Premium join:2004-10-16 Tulsa, OK | reply to Dennis Re: The issue isn't spyware
In essence, I think anyone would still call it spyware. The software does nothing but redirect traffic through there own servers. |
|
  Integra
join:2001-06-16 Minneapolis, MN | reply to MightyPez Re: But the best excuse is still....
Well it has been banned on Indiana campus where I go to school. I work for the campus IT services and anyone with he program running will be automatically banned from the campus network. |
|
  rstrandb Premium join:2003-04-17 Albany, GA | They guy from....
Cool Web Search claims he's not spyware too. |
|
 BarneyBadAss Badasses Fight For Freedom Premium join:2004-05-07 00001
·Verizon FIOS
| Well.. if they say it' snot spyware... then its just SNOT um.. er.. un.. well.. I mean.. PERCIEVED SPYWARE excuse me whilest I wipe my nose on thier PERCEVED SPYWARE.... Bout the only thing it might even be good for..... Bad script kiddies... bad |
|
 Kesseki
join:2001-07-21 Brooklyn, NY
| Interesting timing...
I'm a first-year law student, and have just been investigating one of Marketscore's projects. Almost all U.S. law students sign up with LexisNexis and Westlaw, the two major Web-based legal research services. It seems that Lexis has been giving all of these students' e-mail addresses to Marketscore, who spams them repeatedly with offers of payment for installing the Marketscore software. (Lexis' privacy policy does seem to allow this.) According to my school's Lexis representative, this is a Lexis market research project which they have contracted out to Marketscore. I just got this information from him a couple of days ago, and am awaiting another reply to make sure that I'm interpreting it correctly.
The program that's targeting law students is being marketed as the "JD Academic Research Council." Marketscore's name is only on the domain name registration; I would not have been able to trace it back to Lexis if not for the fact that I signed up for my Lexis account using a unique e-mail address. The spam from Marketscore, under the JDARC name, says only that "you are receiving this email because your information is listed in publicly-available directories or you opted to receive promotional emails from services such as ours." |
|
  Dennis Premium,Mod join:2001-01-26 Algonquin, IL | reply to Derch Re: The issue isn't spyware
i'd call it malware before i'd call is spyware...they aren't installing thing's without people knowing it, they're just misrepresenting it. |
|
  LoneGreyWolf Premium join:2002-09-09 Bath, NY clubs: 
| reply to StudioTech Re: Internet acceleration nonsense
While I agree that accelerators don't make your connection any faster, I will say that my wife and I rely on the one that is provided by Earthlink. Without it, normal browsing would take much more time instead of the mintues it does now. While it doesn't do anything for downloads, which in all honestly I wish it did, it does accelerate regular web browsing, which is it's intention. |
|